Thirteen (13) Direct Entry officers and ten (10) Service Entry candidates commissioned on completion of their basic training

On completion of their basic training, thirteen (13) officers belonging to the 1/2018 Direct Entry intake and ten (10) Service Entry candidates of 1/ 2018 batch were commissioned at a colourful passing out ceremony held at the main parade ground of the Naval and Maritime Academy in Trincomalee today (29th March). Chief of Staff of the Navy, Rear Admiral Jagath Ranasinghe graced the occasion as the Chief Guest and took the salute. Commander Eastern Naval Area, Rear Admiral Sumith Weerasinghe, Commandant Naval and Maritime Academy, Commodore Kalana Jinadasa and a host of senior officers from the Eastern Naval Command and Naval Headquarters were also present on this occasion.

Following the Guard of Honour being accorded, the Navy Chief of Staff inspected the divisions, before presenting special awards to those who excelled in their training. Accordingly, Sub Lieutenant VLI Cooray was adjudged the Best Direct Entry Officer of 1/2018 intake. Sub Lieutenant (S) AKS De Silva won the award for Best Sportsman. The award for Best Marksman was won by Sub Lieutenant (S) KT Chamara. Meanwhile, Able Seaman MFM Irfan won both awards for Best Service Entry Candidate and Best Marksman leaving the trophy for Best Sportsman to Leading Seaman JAD Kumaragama.

Addressing the gathering, the Chief Guest stated that all the officers who marched off from the hollowed pathways of Naval and Maritime Academy will maintain their integrity, discipline and urged them to uplift the image of the Navy as a professional and competent outfit and perform duties to safeguard territorial integrity and sovereignty, with the utmost dedication and thoughts of “Duty Comes First Always”.