Navy rules the waves to secure a number of wins at Dunlop Bell Sailing Regatta

The Dunlop Bell Sailing Regatta organized by the Yachting Association of Sri Lanka was successfully conducted in the alluring waters of Bolgoda Lake on 22nd July 2018.

The event was contested by 52 sailors along with 40 yachts, representing a number of sailing clubs including the Navy Sailing Club, Colombo Motor Yacht Club, Royal Colombo Yacht Club and fledgling sailors from Royal College in Colombo and St. Thomas’ College in Mt. Lavinia. During a range of events held as part of the competition, the following yachtsmen of the Navy took major honours securing 1st, 2nd, 3rd places and several other positions.

Laser standard

Chief Petty Officer WAR Nishanta 1st place
Leading Seaman KGCUS Bandara 2nd place
Leading Seaman SWMJ Weerasekara 3rd place


Laser Redial

Leading Seaman PDDS Rajapaksha 1st place
Petty Officer JMPL Jayasooriya 3rd place
Able Seaman PNPK Dissanayake 4th place
Leading Seaman WAS Weerathunga 7th place



Petty Officer KVN Dimal 1st place
Able Seaman DTS Perera
Petty Officer WPUS Kumara 2nd place
Leading Seaman AMJP Aththanayake
Leading Seaman KWGE Danushka 3rd place
Able Seaman KSK De Silva
Petty Officer DTSK Silva 4th place
Leading Seaman KAN Kithsiri
Leading Seaman WADR Kumara 5th place
Ordinary Seaman LACM Gunathilaka
Women Able Seaman PLD Malkanthi 6th place
Women Ordinary Seaman WPTL Karunarathna


GP 14

Petty Officer NGMU Ganawardana 1st place
Able Seaman KC De Soyza
Leading Seaman WMC Marambe 2nd place
Able Seaman APSK Soyza
Leading Seaman DMRPH Dissanayake 4th place
Petty Officer RMSL Rathnayake



Petty Officer NGMU Ganawardana 1st place
Able Seaman KC De Soyza